Morris County (NJ) Vital Records

Cities and Towns in the United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Vital records

Two options exist for obtaining certified copies of Vital Records occurred in the state of New Jersey: one of them is requesting them at the State office, and the second one is obtaining them through the County Recorder's Office, the Local Health Department or the city or town's Civil Registration office.

Bear in mind that county offices generally provide faster processing times and more payment flexibility, since you may be able to obtain your records within one week, and may be provided the option to pay issuance fees by credit card, either by phone, fax or online.

For your convenience, you can process online requests through a government-approved resource that has partnered with to provide you this service: VitalChek Network, Inc. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

Apply online for your U.S. Birth Certificate clicking HERE

The Morris County Registrar of Vital Statistics provides you with birth, death, and marriage certificates. This Vital Records office may be reached through the telephone number or email address given below. It is also possible to order your vital records online through the official website of the County Vital Records office.

To obtain a copy of a divorce decree, you will need to contact the Clerk of the Superior Court in the county where the divorce was granted.

Please note that official information is provided by government sites only, so contact information provided below may not be up to date.

The Vital Records office in the county of Morris serves all of the following towns and cities in New Jersey: Boonton, Butler, Chatham Borough, Chester, Dover, Florham Park, Kinnelon, Madison, Mendham Borough, Morris Plains, Morristown, Mountain Lakes, Mount Arlington, Netcong, Riverdale, Rockaway, Victory Gardens, Wharton, Parsippany-Troy Hills, East Hanover, Denville, Mount Olive Township, Randolph, Rockaway Township, Roxbury Township, Montville, Morris Township, Jefferson Township, Pequannock Township, Hanover Township, Chatham Township, Long Hill Township, Washington Township, Chester Township, Mendham Township, Boonton Township, Harding Township, Mine Hill Township.

Morris County Clerk

AddressP.O. Box 900, Morristown, NJ 07960-0900
Phone number(973) 285-6120
Email address