Cities and Towns in the United States > State South Dakota
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records

South Dakota

South Dakota is a U.S. state in the Midwestern region of the country. It is bordered by North Dakota in the north, Minnesota and Iowa in the east, Nebraska in the south, and Wyoming and Montana in the west. South Dakota is the seventeenth largest by area, but the 5th least populous with 884,659 inhabitants in 2019. Its capital is Pierre, but its largest city is Sioux Falls. Its governor is Kristi Noem.

South Dakota has a continental climate with four distinct seasons, ranging from cold, dry winters to warm and semi-humid summers. Cyclonic storms occur frequently in the eastern section during the spring and summer. South Dakota has nearly 300 species of birds. Bald and golden eagles are found in ever-increasing numbers along the Missouri River valley and in the Badlands.

Native American tribes such as the Cheyenne, Arikara, Ponca, Lakota, and Dakota Sioux lived on this land. Today nine Native American tribes still reside in South Dakota, and it remains home to the central population of that influential Native American federation. North Dakota became the 40th state of the union on November 2, 1889. The state is named for the Dakota Sioux people.

South Dakota is wellknown for the Mount Rushmore, visited by more than three million people each year, but also for the Crazy Horse Memorial started in 1948 and which is still being carved today in the Black Hills. When finished, the statue will be 563 feet high, almost twice as tall as the Statue of Liberty!

If you want information about your city in South Dakota, click on the South Dakota city names or South Dakota town names below:

Complete List of Cities in South Dakota


    Sioux Falls is a City in Minnehaha county with -200 000 inhabitants.


    Rapid City is a City in Pennington county with -75 000 inhabitants.


    Aberdeen is a City in Brown county with -30 000 inhabitants.


    Brookings is a City in Brookings county with -30 000 inhabitants.


    Watertown is a City in Codington county with -30 000 inhabitants.


    Mitchell is a City in Davison county with -20 000 inhabitants.


    Yankton is a City in Yankton county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Pierre is a City in Hughes county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Huron is a City in Beadle county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Vermillion is a City in Clay county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Spearfish is a City in Lawrence county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Brandon is a City in Minnehaha county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Box Elder is a City in Pennington county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Sturgis is a City in Meade county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Madison is a City in Lake county with -10 000 inhabitants.


1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records