Cities and Towns in the United States > Territory U.S. Virgin Islands
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records

Virgin Islands

Virgin Islands are classified in two groups: the British Virgin Islands and the United States Virgin Islands. The former is a British colony consisting of four larger islands: Tortola, Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost Van Dyke, and the latter group, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior as an unincorporated territory, consists of three larger islands -St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas— and around 50 smaller islets and cays, with a total area of 133 square miles.
The islands are geographically part of the Virgin Islands archipelago and are located in the Leeward Islands of the Lesser Antilles to the east of Puerto Rico and west of the British Virgin Islands. Their capital and largest city is Charlotte Amalie, and their governor is Albert Bryan.

The United States Virgin Islands have a tropical climate, but the heat is tempered by gentle trade winds that blow from the northeast most of the year and humidity is low. Even though the woodlands are not dense, there are numerous species of birds and small game, such as deer. Sailfish, tarpon, marlin, kingfish, and wahoo abound in coastal and offshore waters.

The population is primarily made up of African-Americans descended from African slaves. The number of Puerto Ricans and people from the continental United States has increased in recent years. Less than half of the U.S. Virgin Islands population is native-born.

The tourist industry makes up almost half of the national economy. New roads have been put in place, harbours have been improved, and some tourist hotels have been built. The number of tourists visiting the islands, attracted by opportunities for sport fishing and sailing, has continued to increase.

If you want information about your city in U.S. Virgin Islands, click on the U.S. Virgin Islands city names or U.S. Virgin Islands town names below:

Complete List of Cities in U.S. Virgin Islands


    Charlotte Amalie is a City in St. Thomas district with -20 000 inhabitants.


    Anna's Retreat is a Town in St. Thomas district with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Charlotte Amalie West is a Town in St. Thomas district with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Christiansted is a Town in St. Croix district with -4 000 inhabitants.


    Cruz Bay is a Town in St. John district with -3 000 inhabitants.


    Frederiksted is a Town in St. Croix district with -1 000 inhabitants.

Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records