Cities and Towns in the United States / New Mexico

New Mexico

New Mexico is a state in the Southwestern region of the USA, bordered by Colorado in the north, Oklahoma and Texas in the east, Mexico in the south, and Arizona in the west. Its northwest corner touches Arizona, Utah, and Colorado, creating the only spot where four states meet. Its capital city is Santa Fe, while its largest city is Albuquerque. It is the fifth-largest and sixth-least densely populated state with 2,096,829 inhabitants in 2019. Its governor is Michelle Lujan Grisham.

In 1540, Spanish explorer Francisco Vázquez de Coronado came to the area in search of cities made of gold; over the next century the Spanish colonized the land. Then in 1821, Mexico declared its independence from Spain, and the area became part of Mexico. But after the United States won the Mexican-American War in 1848, New Mexico became a U.S. territory. In 1912, it was declared the 47th state.

New Mexico's climate is generally semiarid to arid; it’s highly sought after for those seeking a comfortable retirement or relief from respiratory diseases and other ailments. New Mexico is home to black bears, bighorn sheep, cougars, coyotes, and what may be North America’s rarest mammal: the black-footed ferret.

New Mexico is a comparatively poor state. About one-half of its economy is based on the service sector, while much of the remainder is centred on extractive industries like mining and oil production. But since the 1990s, milk, sorghum, wheat, hay, chili peppers, and onions have been important agricultural products.

Check below a list of all the cities in the state of New Mexico, classified according to their number of inhabitants. You can click on the area you want to know more about, or look for it using the search bar:


1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5
Sort results