Cities and Towns in the United States > State Wyoming


Wyoming is a landlocked state in the western USA. It is bordered by Montana in the north; Montana, Idaho, and Utah in the west; Utah and Colorado in the south; and Nebraska and South Dakota in the east. It is also the least populous and least densely populated state with 578,759 inhabitants in 2019. Its capital and largest city is Cheyenne. Its governor is Mark Gordon.

Wyoming's climate is generally semi-arid and continental. The state includes areas of arid desert, semiarid steppe (short-grass prairie), and alpine climates. The arid desert regions are all found in the western half of the state. Wyoming supports abundant animal life and it’s home to pronghorns and to the world’s largest single herd of wapiti (American elk).

Native American tribes including the Arapaho, Cheyenne, Crow, Shoshone, and Ute used to live on the land. The first European to arrive was explorer François Louis Verendrye in 1742. The early explorers were followed by small numbers of fur traders, although there were likely never more than 500 traders in Wyoming.

In November 1867, the first train of the Union Pacific Railroad reached Cheyenne and made the state accessible to settlers and visitors. The state’s constitution was approved by a vote of the territorial population on Nov 5, 1889, although Wyoming was not admitted to the Union until 1890. Wyoming’s constitution was the first in the world to grant full voting rights to women, as well as to allow them to hold public office. Wyoming also became the first state to elect a woman governor when Nellie Tayloe Ross won the position in 1924.

Wyoming’s economy is heavily tied to mining and agriculture (primarily the marketing of beef cattle and sheep). The state also has an important and growing tourist industry.

If you want information about your city in Wyoming, click on the Wyoming city names or Wyoming town names below:

Complete List of Cities in Wyoming


    Cheyenne is a City in Laramie county with -75 000 inhabitants.


    Casper is a City in Natrona county with -50 000 inhabitants.


    Laramie is a City in Albany county with -30 000 inhabitants.


    Gillette is a City in Campbell county with -20 000 inhabitants.


    Rock Springs is a City in Sweetwater county with -20 000 inhabitants.


    Sheridan is a City in Sheridan county with -20 000 inhabitants.


    Green River is a City in Sweetwater county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Evanston is a City in Uinta county with -15 000 inhabitants.


    Riverton is a City in Fremont county with -10 000 inhabitants.

  • CODY

    Cody is a City in Park county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Jackson is a Town in Teton county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Rawlins is a City in Carbon county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Lander is a City in Fremont county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Torrington is a City in Goshen county with -10 000 inhabitants.


    Powell is a City in Park county with -10 000 inhabitants.


1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records