Cities and Towns in the United States > State South Dakota

South Dakota

South Dakota is a U.S. state in the Midwestern region of the country. It is bordered by North Dakota in the north, Minnesota and Iowa in the east, Nebraska in the south, and Wyoming and Montana in the west. South Dakota is the seventeenth largest by area, but the 5th least populous with 884,659 inhabitants in 2019. Its capital is Pierre, but its largest city is Sioux Falls. Its governor is Kristi Noem.

South Dakota has a continental climate with four distinct seasons, ranging from cold, dry winters to warm and semi-humid summers. Cyclonic storms occur frequently in the eastern section during the spring and summer. South Dakota has nearly 300 species of birds. Bald and golden eagles are found in ever-increasing numbers along the Missouri River valley and in the Badlands.

Native American tribes such as the Cheyenne, Arikara, Ponca, Lakota, and Dakota Sioux lived on this land. Today nine Native American tribes still reside in South Dakota, and it remains home to the central population of that influential Native American federation. North Dakota became the 40th state of the union on November 2, 1889. The state is named for the Dakota Sioux people.

South Dakota is wellknown for the Mount Rushmore, visited by more than three million people each year, but also for the Crazy Horse Memorial started in 1948 and which is still being carved today in the Black Hills. When finished, the statue will be 563 feet high, almost twice as tall as the Statue of Liberty!

If you want information about your city in South Dakota, click on the South Dakota city names or South Dakota town names below:

Complete List of Cities in South Dakota


    Lake Andes is a City in Charles Mix county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Woonsocket is a City in Sanborn county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Plankinton is a City in Aurora county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    McIntosh is a City in Corson county with -500 inhabitants.


    Baltic is a City in Minnehaha county with -1 500 inhabitants.


    Delmont is a City in Douglas county with -500 inhabitants.


    Lake Preston is a City in Kingsbury county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Pukwana is a City in Brule county with -500 inhabitants.


    Kranzburg is a City in Codington county with -500 inhabitants.


    Hill City is a City in Pennington county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Britton is a City in Marshall county with -1 500 inhabitants.


    Centerville is a City in Turner county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Leola is a City in McPherson county with -500 inhabitants.


    Selby is a City in Walworth county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Bushnell is a City in Brookings county with -100 inhabitants.


1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records