Cities and Towns in the United States > State West Virginia

West Virginia

West Virginia is a state in the Appalachian and Mid-Atlantic regions of the Southern USA. It is bordered by Pennsylvania to the northeast, Maryland to the east and northeast, Virginia to the southeast, Kentucky to the southwest, and Ohio to the northwest. West Virginia is the 38th in population with 1,792,147 inhabitants in 2019. Its capital and largest city is Charleston. Its governor is Jim Justice.

West Virginia has generally a humid subtropical climate, with warm to hot, humid summers and chilly winters. Forests cover more than three-fourths of the state; it’s home to rabbits, squirrels, gray foxes, opossums, skunks, raccoons, and groundhogs.

After the British arrived in the 1600s, the area that now encompasses West Virginia, Virginia, Kentucky, and parts of North Carolina, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New York was altogether called Virginia. The British drove out the Natives in order to give their lands to the Europeans. At the beginning of the Civil War (1861-1865), West Virginia refused to secede from the Union along with the rest of the state. West Virginia separated from Virginia in 1861, and two years later, it became a state on its own.

West Virginia has an abundance and variety of natural resources, although bituminous coal is the most important. The state’s recoverable coal reserves are estimated varyingly at 2 to 50 billion tons; natural gas dominates the state’s west-central portion. Petroleum is extracted in the northern two-thirds of the gas-producing areas.

If you want information about your city in West Virginia, click on the West Virginia city names or West Virginia town names below:

Complete List of Cities in West Virginia

  • CLAY

    Clay is a Town in Clay county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Pine Grove is a Town in Wetzel county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Grantsville is a Town in Calhoun county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Pratt is a Town in Kanawha county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Danville is a Town in Boone county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Union is a Town in Monroe county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Paw Paw is a Town in Morgan county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Whitesville is a Town in Boone county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Hartford City is a Town in Mason county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Northfork is a Town in McDowell county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Reedsville is a Town in Preston county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Cowen is a Town in Webster county with -1 000 inhabitants.


    Peterstown is a Town in Monroe county with -500 inhabitants.


    Matewan is a Town in Mingo county with -500 inhabitants.


    Burnsville is a Town in Braxton county with -500 inhabitants.


1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records