Cities and Towns in the United States > State North Dakota

North Dakota

North Dakota is a north-central state, it is bounded by the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba to the north and by the U.S. states of Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to the south, and Montana to the west. Bismarck, located in the centre of the state, is the capital, but the largest city is Fargo. It is the fourth least populous, and the fourth most sparsely populated of the 50 states of the USA with a population of 762,062 inhabitants in 2019. Its governor is Doug Burgum.

North Dakota’s north-central location gives the state a continental climate that is noted for its extreme temperatures. Temperatures have surged above 120 °F (about 49 °C) in summer and have plunged into the −60s F (about −51 °C) in winter.

Most of the state is covered by grasses. The grasslands still serve as a natural habitat for herds of buffalo and antelope, though many of the buffalo are protected in state parks.

In 1803 the land was acquired by the United States to Spain and England in the Louisiana Purchase. For a long time the region was called the Dakota territory, and included both North and South Dakota. Railroads were built in the late 1800s, bringing American settlers with them, and North Dakota was declared its own state in 1889 and was admitted to the union as the 39th state on November 2, 1889.

The early 21st century, services had become the dominant economic activity, accounting for more than one-third of state income. The state remains dependent on mining and agriculture, however, the agriculture sector declined in part as a result of adverse national farm policies and partly because of the effects of disastrous weather.

If you want information about your city in North Dakota, click on the North Dakota city names or North Dakota town names below:

Complete List of Cities in North Dakota


    Arnegard is a City in McKenzie county with -500 inhabitants.


    Medora is a City in Billings county with -500 inhabitants.


    Newburg is a City in Bottineau county with -500 inhabitants.


    Wildrose is a City in Williams county with -500 inhabitants.


    Galesburg is a City in Traill county with -500 inhabitants.


    Pisek is a City in Walsh county with -500 inhabitants.


    Oberon is a City in Benson county with -500 inhabitants.


    Dazey is a City in Barnes county with -500 inhabitants.


    Rocklake is a City in Towner county with -500 inhabitants.


    Epping is a City in Williams county with -500 inhabitants.


    Esmond is a City in Benson county with -500 inhabitants.


    Cogswell is a City in Sargent county with -100 inhabitants.


    Deering is a City in McHenry county with -100 inhabitants.


    Goodrich is a City in Sheridan county with -100 inhabitants.


    Lankin is a City in Walsh county with -100 inhabitants.


5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24
Birth certificate - U.S. Vital Records