We know how important it is to keep track of your weekly and monthly activities and also your special yearly plans. This is why we would like to give you all relevant information you should know on official holidays and other festivities in the USA, so that you can plan for them and make sure your work schedule, your kids' scholar activities, and your well-deserved vacations run smoothly.

Check below the list of official national holidays and other special celebrations in 2020 and 2021 in the United States, so you can plan ahead your vacations, short trips and weekend breaks.


Let's start with the year 2020...

2020 will have 10 official holidays celebrated on weekdays, which will produce 5 weekend breaks ending on Monday and 2 weekend breaks starting on Friday. Enjoy these special dates in 2020 doing what you like best!

2020 will be a leap year, that is, a year of 366 days in which the month of February will be extended until the 29th. This calendar adjustment is made every four years in order to compensate for a lag of approximately six hours in the real duration of the year.


Public Holidays and special celebrations in the United States in 2020

Calendar Day Holiday or Celebration
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King Day (third Monday in January)
Sunday, February 2, 2020 Groundhog Day *
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day *
Monday, February 17, 2020 President’s Day (third Monday in February)
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 Saint Patrick’s Day *
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday *
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday *
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter *
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday *
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Cinco de Mayo *
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Mother’s Day (second Sunday in May) *
Monday, May 25, 2020 Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Father’s Day (third Sunday in June) *
Friday, July 3, 2020 Independence Day Observance
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Independence Day
Monday, September 7, 2020 Labor Day (first Monday in September)
Friday, September 11, 2020 Patriots Day *
Monday, October 12, 2020 Columbus Day (second Monday in October)
Saturday, October 31, 2020 All Soul’s Day / Halloween *
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 Veterans’ Day
Thursday, November 26, 2020 Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November)
Friday, November 27, 2020 Black Friday *
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve *
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve *

* These are not official holidays in the United States


And in 2021, which will be the national and regional holidays in the United States?

The year 2021 will have 10 official holidays celebrated on weekdays, which will produce 6 weekend breaks ending on Monday and 2 weekend breaks starting on Friday.

Find below a list with the holidays in 2021 and organize yourself in time so you can enjoy your days off doing what you like, whether a short trip, a longer vacation, or a well-deserved rest day:


Public Holidays and special celebrations in the United States in 2021

Calendar Day Holiday or Celebration
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King Day (third Monday in January)
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 Groundhog Day *
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day *
Monday, February 15, 2021 President’s Day (third Monday in February)
Wednesday, March 17, 2021 Saint Patrick’s Day *
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday *
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday *
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter *
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday *
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Cinco de Mayo *
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day (second Sunday in May) *
Monday, May 31, 2021 Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
Sunday, June 20, 2021 Father’s Day (third Sunday in June) *
Sunday, July 4, 2021 Independence Day
Monday, July 5, 2021 Independence Day Observance
Monday, September 6, 2021 Labor Day (first Monday in September)
Saturday, September 11, 2021 Patriots Day *
Monday, October 11, 2021 Columbus Day (second Monday in October)
Sunday, October 31, 2021 All Soul’s Day / Halloween *
Thursday, November 11, 2021 Veterans’ Day
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November)
Friday, November 26, 2021 Black Friday *
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve / Christmas Day Observance *
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve *

* These are not official holidays in the United States

Some other facts on official holidays...

In the USA there are 10 official federal holidays a year, which include the following dates:


  • • New Year’s Day (January 1)

  • • Martin Luther King Day (third Monday in January)

  • • President’s Day (third Monday in February)

  • • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)

  • • Independence Day (July 4)

  • • Labor Day (first Monday in September)

  • • Columbus Day (second Monday in October)

  • • Veterans’ Day (November 11)

  • • Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November)

  • • Christmas Day (December 25)

Note: If a national holiday falls on the weekend, its celebration will be moved to the closest weekday and will be taken as a day off.


During these official holidays, Federal Offices remain closed and non-essential government employees take the day off. Other institutions and public offices, such as public libraries and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), are also closed to the public during these dates. On the other hand, vital agencies, such as health and social services departments, remain open.

Banks are also closed to the public during national holidays. However, ATMs and online banking and telephone services remain available to customers on a regular basis for operations such as check deposits, cash withdrawals, reports and inquiries, etc.

The New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), Nasdaq and other major markets based in the U.S. remain closed during most of these public holidays, with the exception of Columbus Day and Veterans’ Day. On the other hand, although it is not an official holiday, these markets are closed for trading every year on Good Friday.

In addition, the NYSE has an abbreviated day of trading on the day after Thanksgiving, that is, during Black Friday, closing at 1:30 p.m. instead of 4 p.m. as normal.

The U.S. Postal Service (USPS) also considers these holidays as days off, so it does not make any collection or delivery, and post offices remain closed. However, Federal Express (FedEx) and UPS courier services open their offices to the public and provide shipping and other services on a regular basis.

Most public and private schools remain closed, however, in some states there is the possibility for each school district to decide whether the date is taken as day off or not. Likewise, most of the jobs in the private and public sectors consider these holidays as non-working days.

Taking advantage of the above, most museums, visitor centers, zoos and other recreational areas remain open during holidays. In fact, some museums, National Parks and monuments offer free admission during these dates so that students and workers visit them during their vacations. However, this is not a rule, so it is recommended to contact each facility in advance to make sure they are open to the public.

Restaurants, malls, department stores and entertainment centers such as movie theaters are normally also opened during federal holidays. Some retailers even offer special sales to attract shoppers during their days off.